Spoon Theory: What it is and what it isn’t

fit, fat, and feminist

This started as a facebook post on this article that showed up on my feed:
 
I’m not sure how I feel about the way spoon theory has been expanded to others sorts of disabilities- as I’ve seen the types of spoons used with. It does strike me in some sense as being a very different issue that distorts the language we use when people apply the same language of spoons to things that are actually quite different, but then at the same time, I kind of feel like if it helps explain disability maybe expanding the meaning helps….
I am torn though lol, because as soon as I type that I think “but sometimes it obfuscates the issue”.
 
But that issue aside… I really could relate so much to the author’s annoyance at a friend who found that sex is…

View original post 995 more words

Leave a Reply

