When adaptive equipment breaks

Carpet in the background with a mobility scooter in the foreground along with part of a blue pants-wearing leg
My TravelScoot parked next to the bike I’m on

No lies, I’m bummed. I’ve been scooterless for a week now. Last Monday, we did my usual pre-class routine: my husband pulled the TravelScoot out of the car and I walked it down the driveway (the driveway is gravel and it hurts more to drive it down than to walk it)…to find that it wouldn’t turn on. No battery lights, no throttle, nothing. An electrician friend took a look at it, found a loose wire, but that wasn’t it. It looks like it might be the battery, but it looked like it was charging…

Anyhow, it’s been a long week without the scooter and I’m really feeling the effects of it. I miss being able to “walk” to campus. I miss being able to go to the library. I miss being able to have everything I need/want with me (the max I’m supposed to carry is about 10lbs).  I really miss going to the campus gym.  I was working out about four times a week…and now I’m down to none because I can’t get there.

My long days on campus end up being longer yet less useful. Today is my longest day on campus. With the scooter, I would zip to campus (no car!), go to work for a few hours, grab a bite & lay down somewhere for a few minutes if I needed, go to the gym, prep for my night class (sometimes while laying down, depending on how I felt post-gym), go to class, zip home. Today I had to drive to campus, pray for a close & accessible place to park near my office, hobble to office with my bag & crutch, work for a few hours while rotating ice packs because of inflamed nerves, grab a bite and lay down for at least an hour (likely several), then try to work on school stuff while laying down, then drive to the building my class is in (and hope there is parking in front of the building), then night class where I will be up & down & fidgeting & wincing & loopy from medication, then home.

There’s a pretty stark difference between the two. With the scooter, I sometimes have the spoons to go to the dance studio after night class (if I’m really careful in between work & class…and even then I might still end up spending half the class holding on to a wall to not fall). With the scooter, physical activity becomes part of my day because I haven’t pissed off the nerves that were damaged from my broken spine & spondy smashing them for years). With the scooter, my time in between scheduled events becomes more useful and more joyful (lying down with the scooter is a deliberate pacing of daily activity…lying down without it is more of a collapsing into a puddle, trying to not cry/vomit because I’ve walked a block to the nearest couch-like thing on campus).

Hopefully I’ll get my scooter back soon so I can get back to working out, kicking ass, and taking names….because a physically active Casey is a happy Casey 🙂

One thought on “When adaptive equipment breaks”

  1. oh I hope it gets fixed soon. I have had my lightweigh rigid chair 3 days and I can’t imagine it being taken away from me

Leave a Reply

